GoTV Shield:  AFC Leopards, Kakamega Homeboyz through to the next round

    Kakamega Homeboyz
    Goal Scorer Lamine Diallo tries to get the better of his Naivas FC marker. Kakamega Homeboyz won 1-0
    Share this article

    AFC Leopards, Kakamega Homeboyz, and KCB are through to the next round of the GoTV Shield after day one of the first rounds of matches played today, 24 June 2017. Also through are Kenpoly FC, Palos, Nairobi Stima, Sony Sugar, Zetech University, Bandari and Kariobangi Sharks

    Kakamega Homeboyz was up against Division Two side Naivas, the Premier League side emerging 1-0 victors. Homeboyz would find it hard against their resilient opponents with the teams ending it even at the break. Naivas however withered in the second half, eventually falling to a 63rd minute Lamine Diallo header. Homeboyz held on to the slim lead to proceed to the next round. The match was played at the Camp Toyoyo grounds

    Zetech vs Tandaza

    Earlier on at the same venue, Division Two side Zetech University edged out Nairobi Regional League side Tandaza on post-match penalties. Tandaza had taken a 1-0 half-time lead through a goal by Walter Orango. In the second half, Zetech scored two goals in three minutes through Augustus Mukaisi and Joseph Thiongo to make it 2-1. Tandaza were reduced to ten men when Bryan Oriedi was sent off for a second bookable offence but managed a late equalizer through captain Joseph Oketch. In post-match penalties, Zetech scored seven and missed three while Tandaza scores six and missed four

    AFC Leopards, Palos

    Palos also got through to the next round at the expense of Division One Side Griffin with the match ending 5-1. Mike Owino, Alex Waiswa and Job Omuse, and a brace by Suleiman Manjenga were enough to see the National Super League side through. Laban Odhiambo’s 13th-minute opener turned out to be Griffin’s consolation. Later on, at 4.15 pm, AFC Leopards humiliated Dero FC 15-1. Hotshot Vincent Oburu scored five to add to a brace by Marcellus Ingotsi, a goal apiece by Jackson Juma, Musa Mudde, Robinson Kamura and Ian Otieno and four goals by Whyvonne Isuza. Both matches were played at the Moi Stadium in Kisumu

    Kariobangi Sharks

    2016 second runners up Kariobangi Sharks kickstarted their campaign with a 3-2 win over Bungoma Superstars at the Sudi Stadium in Bungoma. Reuben Wanyonyi and Daniel Juma were on target for the home team with Mike Isabwa, Sanneh Ebrimah, and Wycliffe Otieno netting for Kariobangi Sharks

    At the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos, Nairobi Stima edged out home team Machakos United 4-1 to progress to the next round. Visiting Bandari then brushed aside Uweza 3-1KCB also won 3-0 against Division One side Poror Mote while Sony Sugar were 3-0 victors over Timsales. Both matches were played at the Afraha Stadium

    KCB also won 3-0 against Division One side Poror Mote while Sony Sugar were 3-0 victors over Timsales. Both matches were played at the Afraha Stadium

    Tomorrow, Sunday 25 June, will see day two matches take center stage. Gor Mahia will play Nairobi Water at the Thika sub-county Stadium, while Western Stima will be up against Kitale based Transfoc FC. Sofapaka will take on Silver Bullets at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos

    Click Here to view day one Results

    Click here to view day two fixtures

    Share this article