Harambee Stars crowned 2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup champions

Harambee Stars crowned 2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup champions

Share this article

Harambee Stars are the 2017 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup  Champions after a 3-2 win over Zanzibar in post-match penalties, in a match played on Sunday, December 17, 2017, at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

Kenya had taken an early lead through Ovella Ochieng who scored from a free-kick after Whyvonne Isuza had been brought down just outside the box.

Zanzibar, however, restored parity with two minutes left on the clock, Khamis Makame sending a low effort beyond goalkeeper Patrick Matasi’s grasp.

In the first period of extra time, Kenya would once again take the lead. Masud Juma pounced on a defensive mishap to punish the guests. The lead didn’t last long, however, with Khamis Makame once again drawing level, to force the match into penalties.

Patrick Matasi proved the hero of the day, saving three spot-kicks to see Kenya lift the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup on home soil.

Harambee Stars XI

Patrick Matasi (GK), Dennis Sikhayi, Jockins Atudo, Musa Mohammed, Wesley Onguso, Duncan Otieno, Patillah Omotto, Whyvonne Isuzza, Ovella Ochieng, George Odhiambo, Kepha Aswani


Boniface Oluoch(GK), Gabriel Andika (GK), Said Tsuma, Benard Ochieng, Wellington Ochieng, Charles Momanyi, Isaack Kipyegon, Vincent Oburu, Chrispin Oduor, Ernest Wendo, Masud Juma, Samuel Onyango

Share this article