Harambee Stars ends 2017 AFCON assignment on high

Harambee Stars ends 2017 AFCON assignment on  high

Share this article

Harambee Stars posted a 1-1 draw in its sixth and final 2017 Africa Cup of Nations group E qualifier in Ndola, Zambia, on Sunday 4 September.

The two sides went into the break even at 0-0 but Belgium-based Ayub Timbe got the separator in the 64th minute with a lob over the Zambian keeper when he got to the end of Captain Victor Wanyama’s pass.

The hosts replied with three minutes left when unmarked Rainford Kalaba poked home from close range.

Kenya ended their campaign in the qualifier with five points, two behind third-placed Zambia.

Zambia Starting XI:1. Jacob Banda 2. Simon Silwimba 4. Adrian Chama 7. Clatous Chama (8 Felix Katongo 72’) 10. Winston Kalengo 11. Lubambo Musonda (15. Rodrick Kabwe 57’),12 Kondwani Mtonga (6 Paul Katema 72′) 13 Stopilla Sunzu 14 Nathan Sinkala 17 Rainford Kalaba 18 Emmanuel Mbola

Unused Subs: 3 Jackson Kabumbu 5 Buchizya Mfune 9 Justin Shonga 16 Racha Kola

Kenya Starting XI: Boniface Oluoch (GK), Brian Mandela, David Calabar Owino, Musa Mohammed, Aboud Omar, Victor Wanyama (c), Anthony Akumu, Ayub Timbe, Eric Johanna, Erick Marcelo Ouma (Danson Kago 60’) and Jesse Were (Michael Olunga 65)

Unused Subs: David Okello (GK), David Ochieng’, Ismael Gonzalez, Victor Majid, Francis Kahata,

Share this article