Home Harambee Stars Harambee Stars provisional squad for Ghana AFCON Qualifier named

Harambee Stars provisional squad for Ghana AFCON Qualifier named

Kenya vs Ghana AFCON
Harambee Stars coach Sébastien Migné on the touchline during the team's 1-0 win over Equatorial Guinea in an International Friendly match at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos
Share this article

Kenya National football team coach Sébastien Migné has named a provisional squad of 38 players ahead of the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier against Ghana slated for September 8, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani.

Bandari goalkeeper Farouk Shikalo, who has kept the most clean-sheets in this season’s top-tier league, has earned a call-up to the team, as has Ian Otieno, who plies his trade in Zambia for Red Arrows.

Coach Migné has also called up Maritzburg defender Brian Mandela, who is, however, suspended for the match, to assess him in preparation for future engagements.

Paul Were and Belgium based Johanna Omollo also make a return to the team.

Local based players are set to hit camp on September 2, 2018, ahead of the tie, with their foreign-based counterparts scheduled to link up with the team starting September 3, 2018.

Also Read: Kenya kicks off U17 AFCON Qualifiers campaign with a win over South Sudan

Full Squad


Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari)


Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United)


Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Share this article