Migné names 24 players for Swaziland, Equatorial Guinea friendlies

Migné names 24 players for Swaziland, Equatorial Guinea friendlies

Share this article
  • 81

Newly appointed Harambee Stars Head Coach Sébastien Migné has named 24 players to do duty for Kenya, in two upcoming friendlies against Swaziland and Equatorial Guinea, scheduled to be played on May 25 and 28, 2018 respectively.

Further, in what is a first for Kenyan football the coach has also named an additional nine reserve players as a precautionary measure, who may be called upon to replace any of the 24 players in camp if need be.

“We have called up 24 players to camp, both local and foreign-based,” said Migné.

“However, as a precautionary measure and more so because football is a contact sport, we have named an additional nine reserve players who will not report to camp but may be called upon to replace any of the 24 in case of injuries or any other unforeseeable situation,” explained the coach.

The team which reports to camp on Monday, May 21, 2018, will be without Girona striker Michael Olunga who has requested to be excused from the two fixtures due to pre-planned club engagements.

“We had called Olunga but had to replace him when it became evident he would not make it for the two matches,” said Migné.

“We, however, expect him to be part of the squad that will travel to India for the Hero Intercontinental Cup scheduled to beginning on June 1, 2018,” concluded the Coach.

The team will camp at the Kenya School of Monetary Studies, with the friendlies set to be played at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

Also Read: Two friendly matches lined up ahead of the 2018 Hero Intercontinental Cup

Full Squad


Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars)


Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Musa Mohammed (Unnatached), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Bolton Omwenga (Kariobangi Sharks), Michael Kibwage (AFC Leopards), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Eric Ouma (KF Tirana)


Ismael Gonzalez (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), McDonald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Ayub Timbe (Heilongjiang, China), Humphrey Mieno (Gor Mahia), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards)


Masud Juma (Cape Town City, South Africa), Pistone Mutamba (Wazito FC), Ovella Ochieng (Kariobangi Sharks)

Reserve Players

Michael Olunga (Girona FC, Spain), Marvin Omondi (AFC Leopards), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks), Dennis Sikhayi (AFC Leopards), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), Jafari Owiti (AFC Leopards), Robert Arot (Nakuru All Stars), Geoffrey Shiveka (Kariobangi Sharks), Chrispin Oduor (Mathare United)

Share this article
  • 81