2017 GOtv Shield tournament Review

Share this article

The curtains came down on the 2017 GOtv Shield on Friday, October 20, 2017, AFC Leopards emerging champions with a 2-0 win over Kariobangi Sharks.

A goal apiece by Salim Abdalla and Vincent Oburu won it for AFC, consequently setting the Leopards up for a CAF Confederations Cup slot next season. A runners-up finish, however, is an improvement for Sharks, having won bronze in the 2016 edition.

Kariobangi Sharks GOtv Shield

A curtain raiser to the final saw Sony Sugar claim bronze after coming from a goal down to edge Vihiga United 2-1. A goal by George Abege and a long-range stunner by Benjamin Mosha canceled out Amos Kigadi’s first-half opener.

Also Read: AFC Leopards crowned 2017 GOtv Shield Champions

On their way to glory, AFC Leopards went past Dero FC, Nairobi Stima, Bidco United, Wazito, Vihiga United and Kariobangi Sharks. The latter, meanwhile, dispatched Bungoma Superstars, Kenpoly FC, Sofapaka, Eldoret Youth, and Sony Sugar on their way to the final.

AFC Leopards holds the record for the most goals scored in the 2017 edition. The Champions scored 29 goals, following a 15-1 whitewash of lower-tier side Dero FC and a 7-1 mauling of National Super League side Wazito FC.

Also Read: AFC Leopards vs Kariobangi Sharks GOtv Shield final preview

Top Scorers

Vincent Oburu GOtv Shield

AFC Leopards forward Vincent Oburu (Right) scored in the final to take his goal tally to six, the best this season

Vincent Oburu walked away with the top scorer’s prize, having scored six goals. Second on the list is Kariobangi Sharks’ Masud Juma and Sofapaka’s Umaru Kasumba, each with five goals apiece.

Alexis Kitenge (AFC Leopards), Christopher Masinza (Vihiga United), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Marcellus Ingotsi (AFC Leopards), and Ronald Musana (Nakumatt) scored four goals apiece.

Share this article