It is all systems go for the National U17 Football team ahead of the upcoming CECAFA U17 Championships set to be held in Burundi between April 14 and April 28, 2018.

The team, which hit camp on Wednesday, March 28, 2018, in preparation for the championships, leaves for Burundi on Thursday, April 12, 2018.

A friendly match against the National U15 team, which ended in favor of the U17 team, summed up preparations ahead of the team’s departure to Burundi on Thursday.

“We have had adequate preparations for this task (CECAFA U17 Championships), and I am confident that the players will give a good account of themselves,” said FKF Deputy Technical Director Michael Amenga, who will lead the team’s technical bench. He will be assisted by Kibera Black Stars coach Godfrey Oduor, as well as former Kenyan International goalkeeper Jerim Onyango.

Kenya has been pooled in Group A, alongside hosts Burundi, Ethiopia, and Somalia. Group B, meanwhile, comprises Uganda, Tanzania, Sudan and Zanzibar.

Also Read: Harambee Starlets through to AWCON Qualifiers second round

The Junior side will kick off her campaign against the hosts on Saturday, April 14, before facing Ethiopia on Tuesday, April 17, 2018. A match against Somalia will round up Group A action for Kenya on Friday, April 20.

Winners and runners-up from both groups will face off in the semi-finals slated for April 23, and April 24, with the third-place playoff and final set to be played on April 27, and April 28, respectively.

Also Read: Gor Mahia edge SuperSport in CAF Confederations Cup playoff


Saturday, April 14 – Kenya vs Burundi (Muyinga Stadium, 3.30 pm)

Tuesday, April 17 – Kenya vs Ethiopia (Gitega Stadium, 3.30 pm)

Friday, April 20 – Kenya vs Somalia (Muyinga Stadium, 3.30 pm)

Also Read: Eldoret Falcons run over Baringo Starlets in WPL

Full Squad

Costa Anjeo (Millenium), Isaiah Abwal (St.Anthony), Arnold Onyango (Laiser Hill), Telvin Maina (Laiser Hill), Hillary Okoth (Hidden Talent), Nicholas Omondi (Soweto Baptist), Lesley Otieno (Sunflower Secondary), Patrick Ngunyi (Brookshine Secondary), Kennedy Nduto (Sunrise Educational Centre), Michael Abongo (Utumishi Academy), Christopher Raila (St.Anthony), Daniel Odhiambo (St.Anthony), Maxwell Mulili (Mukumu Boys), Movin Omondi (Sunflower Secondary), Brian Olang’o (Kamukunji Secondary), Saidi Musa (Eastleigh High), Felix Chabaya (Brownhill Secondary), Lawrence Otieno (Sunflower Secondary), Nesta Wangema (Annointed High School), Mathew Mwendwa (Annointed High School)

Also Read: KCB narrow gap at the NSL top