The National U17 football team is set to face Tanzania in the semifinals of the ongoing CECAFA U17 Championships in Burundi.

The match is set to be played on Wednesday, April 25, 2018, at the Muyinga Stadium starting 3.30 pm.

Coach Michael Amenga has made three changes to the team that lost 1-0 to Somalia in the final Group A match.

Maxwell Mulili, Lesley Otieno and Michael Abong’o have been drafted into the starting lineup in place of Brian Olang’o, Nesta Wangema and Christopher Raila. The latter has been suspended for having accumulated two yellow cards.

Kenya booked a semis berth following a second place finish in Group A. A 4-0 win over hosts Burundi, coupled with a barren stalemate against Ethiopia and a 1-0 loss to Somalia saw Kenya narrowly progress to the semis on goal difference.

The winner will face the victor of the other semifinal pitting Somalia against Uganda in the final set to be played on April 29, 2018.

Starting XI

18. Maxwell Mulili (GK), 5. Lawrence Otieno, 4. Telvin Maina, 8. Arnold Onyango, 12. Nicholas Omondi, 16. Patrick Ngunyi, 15. Isaiah Abwal, 19. Lesley Otieno, 11. Mathew Mwendwa, 17. Michael Abongo, 13. Daniel Ochieng


1. Brian Olango (GK), 6. Costa Anjeo, 14. Nesta Wangema, 10. Felix Chabaya, 7. Said Musa, 20. Kennedy Nduto