Kariobangi Sharks are the 2018 SportPesa Shield champions following a 3-2 come from behind win over Sofapaka in the final played on Saturday, October 20, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani.

George Abege had put Sharks on the front foot in the 30th minute, a lead they would surrender in the 43rd minute when Stephen Waruru headed in the equalizer off a Kevin Kimani freekick.

Sofapaka would turn the match around in the second half when Kevin Kimani headed in from close range.

Sharks did not give up however, with second half substitute Sidney Lokale restoring parity in in the 80th minute. Before the dust settled, George Abege would deliver the winner, his second of the match, in the 83rd minute to send Sharks fans into a frenzy.

Kevin Kimani had a chance to get Sofapaka yet again back into the match when he stood up to take a spotkick after Geofrey Shiveka was adjudged to have fouled him in the box. He however fluffed his chance, with Sharks holding on henceforth for the crucial win.

The 2017 runners up thus take home a kshs 2 Million bounty, as well as a chance to represent the country in the 2019 CAF Confederations Cup.

Also Read: AFC Leopards get FKF SportPesa Shield third place