Kenya will be among 47 teams that will be contesting for 15 slots at the 2020 Africa Nations Championships, set to be held in Ethiopia.

Confederation of African Football (CAF), in a draw held at its headquarters in Cairo, Egypt on Wednesday, January 30, 2019, confirmed that qualification to the 16-team tourney will take a zonal format.

The East African Zone will thus see eight nations: Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Sudan, Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Somalia, battle it out for two slots reserved for the region. Ethiopia, meanwhile, has been granted automatic qualification by virtue of being the tournament’s hosts.

Kenya will face off with Burundi in the first round. Should the Harambee Stars prevail, either Tanzania or Sudan will be the only obstacle to Kenya’s maiden appearance at the tourney. The qualifiers’ dates will be announced by CAF in due course.

The tournament, whose first edition was held in 2009, is reserved exclusively for players actively featuring in their respective national championships.

Also Read: Ushuru, Wazito unbowed, Shabana lose ground

Central Eastern Zone Qualifiers

First Round

Match 1: Tanzania vs Sudan; Sudan vs Tanzania

Match 2: Kenya vs Burundi; Burundi vs Kenya

Match 3: South Sudan Vs Uganda; Uganda vs South Sudan

Match 4: Somalia vs Rwanda; Rwanda vs Somalia

Second Round

Match 1: Winner 2 vs Winner 1; Winner 1 vs Winner 2

Match 2: Winner 4 vs Winner 3; Winner 3 vs Winner 4

Two second round winners qualify to the tournament alongside Ethiopia

Download the full Qualifying rounds fixture: Click Here