SportPesa Premier League defending champions Gor Mahia left it late to beat Algerian side NA Hussein Dey 2-0 in a CAF Confederations Cup Group D match played on Sunday, February 24, 2019, at the MISC Kasarani.

Coming on the back of a 2-1 loss away to Petro Atletico, Gor was determined to make home advantage count, dominating proceedings early in the match, but resolute defending and time management by the guests saw the first half end 0-0.

K’ogallo kept up the momentum in the second half, and their efforts duly paid off in the 82nd minute when Francis Kahata got on the end of a loose ball off a Shafik Batambuze delivery to slot in the opener.

The guests, while protesting the goal, had Edine Harrag sent off for dissent just before play was restarted.

Gor Mahia vs NA Hussein Dey

NA Hussein Dey starting lineup in their CAF Confederations Cup match against Gor Mahia at the MISC Kasarani

Less than five minutes after Kahata’s opener, Jacques Tuyisenge would sneak in behind the Hussein Dey backline, slotting in past the onrushing Gaya Merbah, a goal that duly sealed K’ogallo’s second win in three matches.

Hussein Dey coach Meziane Ighil was a dejected man, decrying early injuries that he said disoriented his game plan.

“We were looking forward to a difficult match against Gor Mahia since we had watched them play before. I was forced into making two substitutions early in the match and that distorted my game plan,” lamented the coach.

Gor Mahia vs NA Hussein Dey

Gor Mahia starting lineup in their CAF Confederations Cup match against NA Hussein Dey at the MISC Kasarani

His Gor Mahia counterpart Hassan Oktay, meanwhile, noted that his charges will not rest on their laurels, further thanking the fans who came out to back the boys.

“It’s still too early. Things could go down to the wire and we cannot afford to drop any points,” said coach Oktay.

“I must thank the fans for coming out to support us. This is a national affair and I hope that next time the turn out will be bigger,” he added.

Starting Lineups

Gor Mahia

Boniface Oluoch (GK), Philemon Otieno, Shafik Batambuze, Haron Shakava, Charles Momanyi, Kenneth Muguna, Lawrence Juma, Samuel Onyango, Francis Kahata, Nicholas Kipkirui, Jacques Tuyisenge

NA Hussein Dey

Gaya Merbah (GK), Walid Allati, Abdelghani Khiat, Mohamed Amine Tougai, Naoufel Khacef, Chamseddine Harrag, Mehdi Ouertani, Houcine El Orfi, Ilyes Yaiche, Yaya Faouzi, Ahmed Gasmi

Also Read: Kenya U15 team rally to hold Central Rift combined side