AFC Leopards and Kariobangi Sharks both booked places in the round of 16 of the SportPesa Shield following big wins over Transfoc and Elim FC respectively.

Ingwe easily brushed aside Division One League side Transfoc 4-0 at the Bukhungu Stadium in Kakamega.

Isaac Oduro put Leopards on the front foot from the spot in the 12th minute, a lead the SportPesa Premier League side held onto until halftime.

AFC Leopards defender Isaac Oduro scores from the spot to give Ingwe the lead in their SportPesa Shield round of 32 match against Transfoc

Brian Marita then made it two shortly after play resumed in the second half before Vincent Oburu tapped in from close range on the hour mark for Leopards’ third.

Second half substitute would make the scoreline even more comfortable with a fourth goal three minutes from time.

Earlier on at the same venue, Kariobangi Sharks were 5-0 winners over Division Two League side Elim FC.

Elim proved to be a hard nut to crack, only until the 38th minute when Henry Juma broke the deadlock for a 1-0 halftime lead.

Eric Kapaito would double Sharks’ advantage six minutes after resumption before Henry Juma got his second of the day in the 68th minute.

Second half substitute Sydney Lokale then got Sharks fourth in the 75th minute from the spot after James Mazembe was brought down in the box.

With ten minutes left on the clock, debutant Nicholas Omondi completed the rout with a goal from close range, the match ending 5-0

Nicholas Omondi Kariobangi Sharks

Kariobangi Sharks midfielder Nicholas Omondi celebrates his first goal for the club in Sharks’ 5-0 win over Elim FC at the Bukhungu Stadium

The biggest upsets of the day were the elimination of top tier sides Ulinzi Stars and Sofapaka on post-match penalties at the hands of SS Assad and Bungoma Super Stars respectively.

NSL sides Ushuru and Kisumu All Stars also lost their respective matches to Vihiga Sportif and Muranga Seal respectively.

Also Read: FKF rolls out elite U13, U15 league

Round of 32 Results


  1. Uprising 0-5 Western Stima (Ruaraka Grounds)
  2. Congo Boys 2(3)-2(2) Kenya Police (Serani Sports Grounds)
  3. SS Assad 0(5)-0(4) Ulinzi Stars (Ukunda Show Grounds)
  4. Bungoma Superstars 0(5)-0(4) Sofapaka (Sudi Stadium)
  5. Muranga Seal 4-1 Kisumu All Stars (Kiharu Stadium)
  6. Transmara Sugar vs Bidco United (Gusii Stadium)
  7. Dero 2-0 FC Talanta (Moi Stadium Kisumu)
  8. Sindo United 0-1 KCB (Moi Stadium Kisumu)
  9. Vihiga Sportif 2-0 Ushuru (Mumias Sports Complex)
  10. Elim 0-5 Kariobangi Sharks (Bukhungu Stadium)
  11. Transfoc 0-4 AFC Leopards (Bukhungu Stadium)
  12. Kayo 0-1 Bandari (Ruaraka Grounds)


  1. Fortune Sacco vs Wazito (Thika Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Emmausians vs Mwatate United (Serani Sports Ground, 3 pm)
  3. Naivas vs Equity (Camp Toyoyo, 1 pm)


  1. Kenpoly vs Gor Mahia (MISC Kasarani Stadium, 3 pm)

Also Read: FKF set to conduct FIFA DTMS workshop