The national U15 team set to take part in the CECAFA U15 Championships in Eritrea this month has been named.

Rajab Umar, Gil Harel, James Gachago, Kevin Wangaya, and Zein Mwakitawa are among players in the squad who were part of the Shield Trophy-winning side at the Southampton Cup U13 category in England in 2017.

Karl Murugi and Isaac Mugweru, scouted from the ongoing FKF Elite Youth League, have also made the cut.

The tournament is set to kick off on August 16, 2019, with the final slated for September 1, 2019, in Asmara.

Kenya has been pooled in Group A alongside Somalia, Burundi and hosts Eritrea.

The Junior Stars, meanwhile, went down 2-1 to Nairobi County League side Hakati Sportif in a buildup friendly match played at Camp Toyoyo on Wednesday.

Also Read: Gaspo Women remain on top, Makolanders fall to Zetech Sparks

Full Squad


Alvin Odari, Kennedy Okoth, Ibrahim Wanjala


Isaac Mugweru, Brian Kamau, Ibrahim Mone, James Gashago, Mike Churchill, Brian Osoro, Robby Mangi, Joseph Munala

Also read: CAF CC: Match Officials for Bandari, Al Ahli Shandi tie named


Rajab Umar, Andreas Odhiambo, Teddy Sirma, Kevin Wangaya, Karl Murugi, Zein Mwakitawa


Andrew Waliaula, Khamis Nyale, Gil Harel

Also Read: Kenya U15 schedule for CECAFA Championships released