Kenya women national football team coach David Ouma has named the provisional squad for the upcoming Olympics Qualifier pitting the Harambee Starlets against Ghana’s Black Queens.

The call-up largely features players who did duty in Kenya’s aggregate win over Malawi in the second round of qualification.

Coach David Ouma has however widened his scouting net to the FKF Division One League, calling up Limuru Starlets’ Hannah Mbithe.

Kwale Girls forward Elizabeth Katungwa, a product of the Chapa Dimba na Safaricom Youth tournament, also makes a comeback to the team, while Monica Odato (Wadadia) and Phiona Awino (Thika Queens) have been handed maiden call-ups.

The first leg has been slated for October 4, 2019, with the second leg set to be played on October 8, 2019.

The team’s departure to Ghana has been scheduled for October 2, 2019. They will jet back on October 5, ahead of the second leg.

Kenya beat Malawi 5-3 on aggregate in the second round and will be looking forward to a positive result against Ghana, who they held to a 1-1 draw in November 2018 in a friendly match played at the MISC Kasarani.

The Olympics qualifying tournament, which is in its fifth edition, determines which team gains qualification to the 2020 Summer Olympics in Japan.

Also read: Rising Stars set to kick off CECAFA U20 campaign against Zanzibar

Provisional Squad


Annette Kundu (Eldoret Falcons), Judith Osimbo (Gaspo Youth), Monica Odato (Wadadia), Phiona Awino (Thika Queens)


Vivian Nasaka (Vihiga Queens), Fosca Nashivanda (Zetech Sparks), Wincate Kaari (Thika Queens), Nelly Sawe (Thika Queens), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian), Lucy Akoth (Mathare United), Ruth Ingosi (Eldoret Falcons), Cynthia Khaveye (KGSA), Quinter Atieno (Gaspo), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens)


Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo), Sheryl Angachi (Gaspo), Corazone Aquino (Gaspo), Topista Nafula (Vihiga Queens), Martha Amunyolete (Trans Nzoia Falcons), Hannah Mbithe (Limuru Starlets), Sharon Khasandi (Kayole Starlets), Gentrix Shikangwa (Wiyeta Girls), Cynthia Shilwatso (Vihiga Queens)


Janet Moraa (Eldoret Falcons), Mwanahalima Adam (Thika Queens), Bertha Omita (Kisumu All-Starlets), Mercy Airo (Kisumu All-Starlets), Sharon Adhiambo (Makolanders), Elizabeth Katungwa (Kwale Girls), Puren Anyetu (Zetech Sparks)

Also read: Gaspo Youth, Thika Queens renew WPL rivalry on Sunday