Kenya U17 National team coach Oliver Page has named the final squad for the upcoming CECAFA U17 Championships to be played between December 12, and December 22, 2020.

The squad largely features players who formed part of the FKF Center of Excellence that reached the final of the CECAFA U17 Championships last year.

Coach Page has also included players scouted from the fortnight-long national selection exercise that saw a selection panel traverse the country in search of emerging talent.

England-based James Gachago is set to captain the side, while the 2019 CECAFA U15 Championships best goalkeeper Alvin Odari will be out to prove a point in the U17 edition.

The team departs for Rwanda tomorrow, Tuesday, December 8, 2020, ahead of the tourney, whose finalists will earn automatic qualification to the 2021 Africa U17 Cup of Nations in Morocco.

Kenya has been pooled in Group A alongside South Sudan, Uganda, and Ethiopia. Group B comprises Rwanda, Tanzania, Sudan, and Djibouti.

Also read: FKF Women Premier league action resumes


Alvin Odari (FKF Center of Excellence), Ibrahim Wanzala (St.Peters Mumias), Daniel Ochieng (Ringa Secondary)


Abdikadir Mursal Harun (Isiolo Baracks) Salimu Hamisi Omari (Mweza Secondary), Yasin Rajab Umar (FKF Center of Excellence), Rabok Ryan Wesley Ogam (Kakamega High), James Gachago (Moorland School, UK), Irungu Sigmunn Maina (Eastleigh High School), Opande Faiz Ouma (Aquinas High School)


Munyao Linus Kaikai (Kakamega High), Injehu Kevin Wangaya (FKF Center of Excellence), Wafula Issa Lumumba (St.Anthony Boys), Vihenda Silas Maloba (Kakamega High), Kahindi Nyale Khamis (FKF Center of Excellence), Teddy Sirma (FKF Center of Excellence), Omondi Andreas Odhiambo (FKF Center of Excellence), Phabian Sheldon Odhiambo (Ongata Secondary)


Jefwa Majaliwa Charo (Tandee High School), Nduni Ali Hamisi (Shimba Hills Secondary), Harel Gil (Claremont School), Muendo Kenn Kyalo (St.Anthony Boys), Ouma Victor Otieno (Jamhuri High School), Ochieng Baron (Dagoretti High School), Koome Dennis (Kanda High School)

Also read: Betika Super League round one action set for play