Harambee Stars held Rwanda’s Amavubi (The Wasps) 1-1 in their 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifier played on Sunday, September 5, 2021, at the Kigali Stadium.

Captain Michael Olunga nicked the lead for Harambee Stars in the 9th minute with his shot landing the ball right at the back of the net.

In the 20th minute, however, Abdul Rwatubyaye equalized the scores for Rwanda’s Amavubi.

Despite several attempts made by Kenya to take back the lead, the half-time whistle sealed the scores at 0-0.

After the intermission, Abdalla Hassan came in for Lawrence Juma in the 5oth minute with his counterpart Boniface Muchiri coming in for Eric Johanna in the 68th minute.

Three minutes to stoppage time Richard Odada received a yellow card for foul play. One minute later, Henry Meja came in for Masud Juma.

Both teams attempted to get the lead but their efforts fell naught with the full-time whistle sealing the scores at 1-1.

Harambee Stars Starting XI

1. Ian Otieno (GK), 2. Joseph Okumu, 5. Eugene Asike, 15.Daniel Sakari, 3. Eric Ouma, 6.Richard Odada, 21. Lawrence Juma, 16. Juma Masud, 13. Kenneth Muguna, 10.Eric Johanna, 14. Michael Olunga


23. James Saruni (GK), 18. Joseph Okoth (GK), 17. Duke Abuya, 8. Patillah Omoto, 19. Harun Shakava, 7. Boniface Muchiri, 20. Erick Kapaito, 4. Frank Odhiambo, 9.Henry Meja, 11.Siraj Mohammed, 12.Bolten Omwenga, 22. Hassan Abdallah, 11. Jackson Macharia