Vihiga Bullets defender Potipher Odhiambo has been named the Betika National Super League Defender of the Year, for the just-ended 2020/21 season.

Potipher was an instrumental figure in Bullets’ backline as the Vihiga based side earned promotion to the top tier, for the first time in the club’s history. His performances would earn him a call-up to the Emerging Stars provisional squad for the 2021 CECAFA U23 Championships.

Also feted at the Gala, held at a Nairobi Hotel on Wednesday, September 15, 2021, was FC Talanta Coach Ken Kenyatta, who was named Coach of the Year, while Alfred Tanui was named the Young Player of the Year.

The winners took home cash prizes as well as gift hampers from leading gaming firm Betika.

Also Read: Erick Kapaito crowned 2020/21 FKF PL Most Valuable Player in Awards Gala

Award Winners

Assistant Referee of the Year

Oliver LIME – Winner (KES 250,000)

Walter MARITIM – 1st Runners-Up (KES 150,000)

Irene MASHA – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 100,000)

Center Referee of the Year

Edwin BOBIYA – Winner (KES 300,000)

Lucy JUMA – 1st Runners-Up (KES 200,000)

Wycliffe ITOLONDO – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 100,000)

Fair Play Award

Kibera Black Stars FC – Winner (KES 300,000)

Young Player of the Year

Alfred TANUI – Winner (KES 300,000)

Alvin OCHIENG – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 200,000)

Brian MICHIRA – 1st Runners-Up (KES 100,000)

Defender of the Year

Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner (KES 300,000)

Nichodemus MALIKA – 1st Runners-Up (KES 200,000)

Chris WILUNDA – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 100,000)

Midfielder of the Year

Antony GICHO – Winner (KES 300,000)

Bonface KWEYU – 1st Runners-Up (KES 200,000)

Brian MICHIRA – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 100,000)

Golden Glove

Bonphas MUNYASA – Winner (KES 400,000)

Gedion OGWENO– 1st Runners-Up (KES 250,000)

Wilson MWANGI – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 150,000)

Golden Boot

Cornelius JUMA – Winner (KES 500,000)

Jackson OKETCH & Samuel NDUNG’U – 1st Runners-Up (KES 200,000 each)

Coach of the Year

Ken Kenyatta – Winner (KES 500,000)

Edward MANOAH – 1st Runners-Up (KES 300,000)

Benedict SIMIYU – 2nd Runners-Up (KES 150,000)

Team of the Year

FC Talanta – Winner (KES 1 Million)

Most Valuable Player

Portipher ODHIAMBO – Winner (KES 1 Million)

Get involved: Noah Abich implores former players as Kisumu CAF C Coaching Course commences