Sofapaka edged out AFC Leopards 4-3 in post-match penalties to win the Jamhuri Day Cup played on Monday, December 12, 2022, at the Nyayo Stadium.

The match, watched by Sports SC Ababau Namwamba, ended 1-1 in regulation time and has been recorded as a draw in the official FKF Premier League records.

Washington Munene gave AFC Leopards the lead after converting a penalty in the 13th minute.

Sofapaka’s Davies Kasirye and Nixon Omondi came close to equalizing for Batoto Ba Mungu but AFC Leopard’s Goalkeeper Levis Opiyo stood firm to keep the score at 1-0 during the break.

After the breather, Roddy Manga equalized the scores, six minutes to stoppage time after converting from a corner kick.

With neither team unable to break the stalemate, the game went to penalties, where Sofapaka’s Goalkeeper Mathias Kigonya scored the winning goal to give Sofapaka the Jamhuri Day Cup trophy and a cash prize of 500,000 Shillings. AFC  Leopards received 300,000.

Meanwhile, at the MISC Kasarani, Kenya Police were held to a goalless draw by visiting Bandari.


Saturday, December 10, 2022

  1. Bidco United 0-1 Tusker (Thika Stadium, 3 pm)

Sunday, December 11, 2022

  1. Kakamega Homeboyz 1-1 Ulinzi Stars  (Bukhungu Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. KCB 1-2 Nzoia Sugar (Kasarani Stadium, 3 pm)
  3. Posta Rangers  0-0 Nairobi City Stars (Thika Stadium, 3 pm)

Monday, December 12, 2022

  1. Kenya Police 0-0 Bandari (Kasarani Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Sofapaka 1-1 AFC Leopards (Nyayo National Stadium, 3 pm)