Harambee Starlets defender Phoebe Owiti says football quality will decide their international friendly match against Albania.

” This is the first time we are playing Albania, and they are also playing us for the first time, and hence, only football can determine the winner.”

Owiti previously played for Vihiga Queens before moving to the Turkish side Hakkarigucuspor. She could not hide her excitement about receiving a call-up to represent her country.

“I’m very happy to be here and have the chance to represent my country in the friendly against Albania. We haveĀ  stayed out for a year and a half, and now that we have this opportunity, we are going to make Kenya proud.”

Phoebe said the team is motivated and the mood in camp is great and everyone is pulling together to prepare for Albania.

This is the team’s second day of training with all local based players having reported to camp. They will be joined by their international counterparts later next week.

The team is scheduled to leave for Albania on April 8, 2023, and play on April 11, 2023.

Provisional Squad


Valentine Khwaka (Gaspo Women), Diana Tembesi (Vihiga Queens), Annedy Kundu (Rea Women FC), Lilian Awuor (ASJ Soyaux Charente)


Christine Awuor (Zetech Sparks), Lupemba Bilonda (Thika Queens), Stellah Mulongo (Nakuru Queens), Dorcas Shikobe (Sethu), Enez Mango (Farul Constanta), Vivian Nasaka (Hakkarigucuspor), Phoebe Owiti (Hakkarigucuspor), Ruth Ingosi (Simba Queens), Wincate Kaari (Yanga Princess).


Merceline Wayodi (Vihiga Queens), Ketsia Ngaira (Ulinzi Starlets), Monalizer Anyango (Zetech Sparks), Sheryl Angachi (Ulinzi Starlets), Mercylne Anyango (Batumi women- Georgia), Lorna Nyarinda (Thika Queens), Maximila Robi (Kibera Soccer), Janet Moraa (Vihiga Queens), Elizabeth Wambui (Gaspo Women), Violet Nanjala (Association Municipal de Layaauone Football Feminine), Vivian Corazone (Simba Queens), Cynthia Shilwatso (Kryvbas Women),


Monica Etot (Kisumu Allstarlets), Desma Nyawade (Kisped Queens), Jentrix Shikangwa (Simba Queens), Mwanalima Adam (Hakkarigucuspor), Esse Akida (FC PAOK), Tereza Engesha (Hyundai Steek R.A), Purity Alukwe (Zetech Sparks), Marjoleen Nekesa(SK Slavia Praha).