Harambee Stars Coach Engin Firat has named the provisional squad for the two upcoming friendlies against Qatar, the hosts of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, in an away match on September 7, 2023, and South Sudan at home on September 12, 2023.

This 26-man squad comprises a formidable mix of both local and internationally-based players. Notable among the foreign-based talents are captain Michael Olunga, who plies his trade in Qatar, Masud Juma in Saudi Arabia, Ian Otieno in Zambia, Joseph Okumu in France, Brian Mandela in South Africa, Johnstone Omurwa in Portugal, Eric Ouma in Sweden, Amos Nondi in Armenia, Richard Odada in Denmark, and Teddy Akumu in Japan.

Ayub Timbe Masika, now playing in China, Clarke Oduor in England, Gor Mahia midfielder Austin Odhiambo and Timothy Omondi, currently in Sweden, are making their return to the squad.

Additionally, the squad includes international players with Kenyan roots who ply their trade in Europe. Danish-born defender Daniel Anyembe, who has previously captained Denmark’s U-23 national team, and Alfred Scriven, who plays for IL Hodd in Norway, have received call-ups once more.

Kenya Police forward Elvis Rupia, and his counterpart David Ochieng also make the list, while Abud Omar of Kenya Police and Moses Shummah from Kakamega Homeboyz have retained their spots as well.

The team reports to camp on Sunday, September 3, 2023.

Also read: Harambee Stars Pooled in Group F of 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Provisional Squad


Ian Otieno (Zesco, Zambia), Byrne Odhiambo (KCB), Patrick Matasi (Kenya Police FC)


Collins Sichenje (AIK, Sweden), Joseph Okumu (Stade Reims, France), Brian Mandela (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Johnstone Omurwa (Estrela, Portugal), David Ochieng (Kenya Police), Daniel Anyembe (Viborg, Denmark), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), Amos Nondi (Ararat, Armenia), Abud Omar (Kenya Police), Clarke Oduor (England)


Richard Odada (AaB, Denmark), Teddy Akumu (Sagan Tosu, Japan), Kenneth Muguna (Kenya Police), Timothy Ouma (IF Elfsborg, Sweden),  Duke Abuya (Singida Fountain Gate, Tanzania), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Ayub Masika (Nanjing City Football Club, China), Alfred Scriven (IL Hødd, Norway), Austin Odhiambo (Gor Mahia)


Moses Shummah (Kakamega Homeboyz), Elvis Rupia (Kenya Police), Michael Olunga (Al Duhail, Qatar), Masud Juma (Al Jabalain, Saudi Arabia)

Also read: Dates Set for Harambee Starlets WAFCON Qualifiers