The Kenyan U23 national team, which will compete in the upcoming COSAFA Cup in Port Elizabeth, South Africa, starting June 26, 2024, today held its first training session.

Twenty out of the 34 players initially called up took part in today’s double session, with the rest expected to be involved tomorrow.

Those who were part of the team today include senior players Anthony Akumu and Johnstone Omurwa, as well as Alphonce Omija, Chrispine Erambo, Baron Ochieng, Haniff Wesonga, Rooney Onyango, Kaycie Odhiambo and Alpha Onyango who have previously been part of the senior team.

The rest are Sebastian Wekesa, Paul Ochuoga, Boniface Onyango, Geoffrey Onyango, Wilson Stanley, Shariff Musa, Bajaber Mohammed, Patrick Otieno, Hassan Beja, Fortune Omoto, and Samuel Kapen.

Departure dates to South Africa are tentatively set for Tuesday, June 25, 2024.

Kenya has been pooled in Group B alongside Zambia, Comoros, and Zimbabwe. The U23 Stars will kick off their campaign against Zambia on June 27, 2024, at the NMB Stadium. They will then face Comoros on June 30, 2024, at the Wolfson Stadium and conclude their group matches with a match against Zimbabwe on July 2, 2024, at the Wolfson Stadium.

The top teams from the three groups and the best runner-up will advance to the tournament’s semi-finals.

Also read: Junior Starlets Make History by Qualifying for Maiden World Cup

Provisional Squad


Bryne Omondi (Bandari), Brian Bwire (Tusker), Sebastian Wekesa (Kariobangi Sharks), Ibrahim Wanzala (Kakamega Homeboyz)


Alphonce Omija (Dhofar, Oman), Paul Ochuoga (Gor Mahia), Boniface Onyango (Tusker), Geoffrey Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Hanniff Wesonga (KCB), Amos Wanjala (Nastic Sports Academy, Spain), Johnstone Omurwa (Portugal), Faiz Opande (USA), Baron Ochieng (Sofapaka)


Wilson Stanley (Kariobangi Sharks), Shariff Musa (Gor Mahia), John Ochieng (Zanaco, Zambia), Anthony Akumu (Unattached), Chrispine Erambo (Tusker), Aldrine Kibet (Nastic Sports, Spain), Bajaber Mohammed (City Stars), Alpha Onyango (Gor Mahia), Austin Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Rooney Onyango (Gor Mahia), Patrick Otieno (Posta Rangers), Hassan Beja (AFC Leopards), Emmanuel Osoro (Nzoia Sugar), William Gatimu (Bandari), Fortune Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks), Kaycie Odhiambo (AFC Leopards)


Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia), Josphat Lopaga (Dynamo Brest, Belarus), Samuel Kapen (Nairobi City Stars), Moses Shummah (Kakamega Homeboyz), Zech Obiero (Leyton Orient, England), George Gitau (Middlesborough, England), Jeremy Bissau (Brooke House College, England), Jacob Onyango (Sofapaka)


Group Stages

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Group A

  1. Eswatini vs Botswana (NMB Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. South Africa vs Mozambique (NMB Stadium, 6 pm)

Thursday, June 27, 2024

Group B

  1. Comoros vs Zimbabwe (NMB Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Zambia vs Kenya (NMB Stadium, 6 pm)

Friday, June 28, 2024

Group C

  1. Lesotho vs Seychelles (NMB Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Angola vs Namibia (NMB Stadium, 6 pm)

Saturday, June 29, 2024

Group A

  1. Mozambique vs Eswatini (Wolfson Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. South Africa vs Botswana (Wolfson Stadium, 6 pm)

Sunday, June 30, 2024

Group B

  1. Kenya vs Comoros (Wolfson Stadium, 12 noon)
  2. Zambia vs Zimbabwe (Wolfson Stadium, 3 pm)

Monday, July 1, 2024

Group C

  1. Angola vs Seychelles (Wolfson Stadium, 12 noon)
  2. Namibia vs Lesotho (Wolfson Stadium, 3 pm)

Tuesday, July 2, 2024

Group B

  1. Kenya vs Zimbabwe (Wolfson Stadium, 12 noon)
  2. Comoros vs Zambia  (NMB  Stadium, 12 noon)

Group A

  1. Mozambique vs Botswana (Wolfson Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. South Africa vs Eswatini  (NMB  Stadium, 3 pm)

Wednesday, July 3, 2024

Group C

  1. Namibia vs Seychelles (Wolfson Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Lesotho vs Angola  (NMB  Stadium, 3 pm)


Friday, July 5, 2024

  1. Winner Group B vs Winner Group C (NMB Stadium, 3 pm)
  2. Winner Group A vs Best 2nd Place (NMB Stadium, 6 pm)


Sunday, July 7, 2024

  1. Third-place Playoff (NMB Stadium, 2 pm)
  2. Final (NMB Stadium, 5 pm)