AFC Leopards crowned 2017 GOtv Shield Champions

    AFC Leopards vs Kariobangi Sharks GOtv Shield
    AFC Leopards players celebrate winning the 2017 GOtv Shield
    Share this article

    AFC Leopards are the 2017 GOtv Shield champions after edging out Kariobangi Sharks 2-0 in the final played on October 20, 2017, in Kasarani

    Goals from either half by Salim Abdalla and Vincent Oburu saw Ingwe claim the trophy, which comes with a ksh 2 Million bounty and a chance to represent the country in the CAF Confederations Cup

    The champions got ahead in the 18th minute, defender Salim Abdalla rising highest to head in a corner kick by Duncan Otieno. The goal gave Leopards much more impetus, with the ten-time champions limiting Kariobangi Sharks to only rare chances at goal

    A sudden downpour ensued in the second half, further limiting Sharks’ chance of an equalizer. Leopards would, however, double their advantage in the 80th minute through Vincent Oburu who pounced on a loose ball after Sharks goalie Jeff Oyemba failed to handle Aziz Okaka’s cross cum shot from the right flank

    Sony Sugar

    Earlier on SoNy Sugar had come from a goal down to dispatch Vihiga United in the third-place playoff starting 12 pm. Amos Kigadi had given Vihiga a 1-0 halftime lead. SoNy, however, restored parity through George Abege before Benjamin Mosha sent in a ferocious winner from outside the box

    Share this article