Coach Okumbi names travelling team for Iraq, Thailand friendlies

    Stanley Okumbi
    Harambee Stars head coach Stanley Okumbi in a light moment during a past training session
    Share this article
    • 105

    Coach Stanley Okumbi has named Harambee Stars travelling party ahead of two FIFA International Friendly matches against Iraq and Thailand slated for October 5 and October 8, 2017, respectively

    Notable omissions from the team are Captain Victor Wanyama, Ayub Timbe and Brian Mandela who are out injured, while Belgium based Johanna Omollo misses out due to club commitments. Defender David Ochieng will not make it in time for the trip due to issues with his travel documents

    Due to the KPL fixture congestion, local-based players are set to report to camp on the evening of October 1, 2017, at the Kenya School of Monetary Studies before departure on October 2, 2017

    “We have decided to name the final list without necessarily having to call players to camp due to the fixture congestion being experienced at the moment,” said Harambee Stars first coach Stanley Okumbi

    “This, we believe, will not only allow clubs adequate time with the players but will also avert a crisis occasioned by the disruption of the league during this crucial period when most teams are battling to accrue crucial points vital in deciding where they sit at the end of the season,” added the coach

    Foreign-based players will link up with the team in Iraq

    Also Read: Harambee Stars set to play Iraq, Thailand in friendlies

    Travelling Party


    Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)


    Haron Shakava (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), David Owino (Zesco FC), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Sikhayi (AFC Leopards), Abud Omar (Slava Sofia), Erick Ouma (Kolkheti Poti)


    Anthony Akumu (Zesco FC), Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Patilah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks), Kenneth Muguna, (Gor Mahia), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi FC), Stephen Waruru (Ulinzi Stars), Eric Johana Omondi (Vasalund’s FC), Boniface Muchiri (Tusker FC), Cliffton Miheso (Buildcon FC)


    John Mark Makwata (Buildcon FC), Masud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks), Jesse Jackson Were (Zesco FC), Michael Olunga (Girona FC)

    Technical Bench

    Stanley Okumbi (First Coach), Musa Otieno (Assistant Coach), Frank Ouna (Assistant Coach), Haggai Azende (GoalKeepers Coach), Mikael Igendia (Strength and Conditioning), Wycliff Omom (Team Doctor), Benson Otieno (Kit Manager)

    Share this article
    • 105