Emerging Stars provisional squad for Sudan Olympics Qualifier named

Emerging Stars
The Kenya U23 National team players pose for a team photo prior to their Olympics Qualifier against Mauritius at the MISC Kasarani
Share this article
  • 166

The Kenya National U23 team for the upcoming two-legged Africa U23 Cup of Nations cum Olympics Qualifier against Sudan has been named.

The squad is largely made up of players who played a part in the first round win on aggregate over Mauritius.

New additions to the squad, however, include Boniface Onyango and Moses Mudavadi, who have been promoted from the U20 Rising Stars squad. Arnold Onyango, who captained the U17 team to fourth place at the CECAFA U17 championships last year, has also made the cut.

Kakamega Homeboyz hotshot Peter Thiongo, Nairobi Stima’s Curtis Wekesa, and Sofapaka’s John Avire complete the debutants’ list.

The team is set to kick off residential training on March 11, 2019, in Nairobi, ahead of the first leg, set to be played on March 20, 2019, at the Khartoum Stadium in Sudan. The second leg will be played on March 24, 2019, at the MISC Kasarani, with the winner set to face either of Nigeria or Libya in the third round.

The third round winner, on aggregate, will grace the 2019 Africa U23 Cup of Nations in Egypt, which will act as a qualifier to the 2020 Summer Olympics in Japan.

Provisional Squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Mike Kibwage (KCB), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Yusuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA), Boniface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), Moses Mudavadi (Bandari)


Teddy Osok (Wazito), Tobias Otieno (Sony Sugar), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Alwyn Tera          (FC Saburtalo, Georgia), Arnold Onyango (Mathare United), Peter Thiongo (Kakamega Homeboyz), Curtis Wekesa (Nairobi Stima), Sven Yidah (Kariobangi Sharks)


Pistone Mutamba (Sofapaka), Boniface Mukhekhe (Mt Kenya United), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund FC, Sweden), Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Jafari Owiti   (AFC Leopards), John Avire (Sofapaka)

Also Read: Harambee Stars provisional squad for Ghana AFCON Qualifier named

Share this article
  • 166