Final chance for clubs to comply with club licensing

    club licensing
    Share this article

    Kenya Premier League (KPL) clubs hoping to be awarded a CAF club license had until close of business on Friday 16 December 2016 to submit their documents for scrutiny by the Independent FKF Club Licensing Committee (FLC).

    Club Licensing, an initiative of FIFA back in 2015 is being implemented across the globe through respective continental bodies. For Kenya, through CAF.

    At the close of Thursday 15 December, three KPL clubs; Chemelil Sugar, AFC Leopards and Bandari met the merit, receiving a score of 50 and above that will guarantee them a license, albeit provisional.

    Joining the three were two National Super League sides Kariobangi Sharks and Zoo FC from Kericho.

    The five joined three other KPL clubs Tusker, Ulinzi Stars and Kakamega Homeboyz who had received their licenses earlier, as well as NLS side Wazito FC.

    Clubs that fail to meet the required threshold by the set deadline risk being locked out of the top league in 2017.

    After submissions on Friday, FLC will sit on Saturday 17 December and the final results will be made known at a press conference on Tuesday 20 December at a time to be specified.

    Coming from FIFA, Club Licensing System is based on five key criteria: sporting, personnel and administrative, financial, infrastructure and legal.

    These criteria aim to safeguard the credibility and integrity of club competitions while improving the level of professionalism within the football family and promoting transparency in the finances, ownership, and control of clubs.

    Share this article