Harambee Stars arrive safely in Basra, hold first training session

harambee stars
Share this article

Harambee Stars arrived safely in Basra ahead of two FIFA International Friendly matches against hosts Iraq and Thailand slated for Thursday, October 5 and Sunday, October 8, 2017

The team has been boosted by the arrival of foreign-based players, including Spain based Michael Olunga, Georgia based Eric Ouma, Bulgaria based Abud Omar and Sweden based Eric Johanna

Zambia based quintet of Anthony Akumu, Jesse Were, David Owino, Cliffton Miheso and John Mark Makwatta linked up with the local based players in Nairobi on Monday, October 2, 2017, before departure to Iraq

Coach Stanley Okumbi took charge of the team’s first training session on October 3, 2017, starting 7 pm EAT. Zesco defender David Owino, who bears the captain’s armband in place of injured Victor Wanyama, was upbeat ahead of the friendly matches

“Playing on a different continent will be good exposure for us ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers. We shall gain a lot of confidence and face the qualifiers when we are much more prepared,” said Captain David Owino

Stars will on Wednesday, October 4, 2017, starting 7 pm EAT, hold their second training session at the Basra International Stadium, the venue of the first friendly match against Iraq. The match will be the second on home soil for the hosts after FIFA lifted a ban on the country’s stadiums

Also Read: FKF welcomes Nakumatt, Zoo reinstatement to the KPL

Full Squad


Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)


Haron Shakava (Gor Mahia), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), David Owino (Zesco FC), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Sikhayi (AFC Leopards), Abud Omar (Slava Sofia), Erick Ouma (Kolkheti Poti)


Anthony Akumu (Zesco FC), Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Patilah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks), Kenneth Muguna, (Gor Mahia), Samuel Onyango (Ulinzi FC), Stephen Waruru (Ulinzi Stars), Eric Johana Omondi (Vasalund’s FC), Boniface Muchiri (Tusker FC), Cliffton Miheso (Buildcon FC)


John Mark Makwata (Buildcon FC), Masud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks), Jesse Jackson Were (Zesco FC), Michael Olunga (Girona FC)

Share this article