Ten games unbeaten as Harambee Stars edges out DR Congo

Ten games unbeaten as Harambee Stars edges out DR Congo

Share this article

Harambee Stars stretched its unbeaten run to ten matches with yet another positive result, a 2-1 win over the Democratic Republic of Congo. Michael Olunga celebrated his birthday in style, scoring twice to cap off a good week for the Harambee Stars.

Stars coach Stanley Okumbi had most of his regulars in the starting lineup after resting them in the midweek friendly against Uganda. Captain Victor Wanyama started in midfield with David Ochieng and Belgium-based Johanna Omollo. Michael Olunga and Jesse Were were tasked with the goal hunt.

Stars got off to a fine start with Michael Olunga cutting in from the left flank to score, albeit with his weaker foot, for an early lead in the fifth minute. Congo upped the pressure and finally found an equalizer in the 63rd minute through a Gael Kakuta freekick. Harambee Stars, however, got back ahead through a tap in by Michael Olunga in the 70th minute, off an assist by Ulinzi forward Samuel Onyango. Stars withstood a late surge by Congo to hang on to the much-needed win.

The win is yet another positive result after Stars conceded late in the game to settle for a 1-1 draw with the Uganda Cranes in midweek. Michael Olunga was on target for Harambee Stars.

In the reverse fixture played in October last year away in Congo, Harambee Stars beat the hosts 1-0 courtesy of a goal by Michael Olunga off an assist by Paul Were. The win at Machakos was Kenya’s first against Congo on home soil.

Next in line for Harambee Stars is a friendly match against Malawi at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos. The friendly match will feature local based players as a prep for the upcoming Africa Nations Championships to be played in Kenya in early 2018.

Harambee Stars

Starting XI: Boniface Oluoch, Joakins Atudo, Brain Mandela, David Owino, Abud Omar (Osborne Monday), Victor Wanyama, David Ochieng, Johanna Omollo (Paul Were), Samuel Onyango, Jesse Were (Robinson Kamura), Michael Olunga

Subs: David Okello, David Mwangi, Kenneth Muguna, John Makwatta, Noah Wafula,

DRC Congo

Starting XI: Joel Kasumbua, Jordan Ikoko, Fabian Nsakala, Chancel Mbemba, Marcel Tiserana, Remi Mulumba, Wilson  Kamavuka, Neejkens Kabiano, Gael Kakuta, Junior Kabananga, Jonathan Bolingi

Subs: Ley Matampi, Frank Nkela, Janick Bangala, Djos Ijama, Jordan Ngololo, Ewas Kachungo, Jonathan Bijimine


Share this article