Harambee Stars: Update on Mozambique, Morocco, Mauritania friendlies

harambee stars
Share this article

Ulinzi Stars has requested Harambee Stars first coach Stanley Okumbi to exempt its players from the recent national team call-ups. The move has been occasioned by the team’s participation in the East Africa Military Games between August 24 and September 06, 2017

“Ulinzi Stars will represent Kenya in the 11th edition of the East Africa Military Games from 24 August to 06 September 2017. Further to that, Ulinzi Stars has a match against Chemelil Sugar on Tuesday, August 22, 2017,” stated part of the letter, signed by Ulinzi CEO G B Wanjala

“Cognizant to the above, the players selected for the National Team will not be able to report to camp for they will be preparing for the above-mentioned duties,”

In light of the aforementioned, the Stars technical bench has called up 10 more local based players. Also named in the squad are 12 foreign-based players who will link up with the team at a later date

“In light of their (Ulinzi Stars) request and the two additional matches, (against Mauritania and Togo), we decided to call up 10 more players to replace the Ulinzi quintet and provide more options for us,” said Harambee Stars first coach Stanley Okumbi

The team will report to camp on Sunday, August 27, 2017. The Morocco contingent, set to face Morocco and Mauritania on August 31 and September 4, 2017, respectively, will leave on Tuesday, August 29, while the team to face Mozambique, on September 02, 2017, will leave for Maputo on August 31, 2017

Full Squad


Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers), Peter Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Gabriel Andika (AFC Leopards), Farouk Shikalo (Posta Rangers)


Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia), Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia), Simon Mbugua (Posta Rangers), Collins Shivachi (Tusker), Joseph Okumu (Unattached), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Robinson Kamura (AFC Leopards), Wesley Onguso (Sofapaka), Dennis Shikhayi (AFC Leopards) Pascal Ogweno (Kariobangi Sharks)


Ernest Wendo (Gor Mahia), Victor Majid (AFC Leopards), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Jackson Macharia (Tusker), Alpha Onyango (Kakamega High School), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Peter Nganga (Nakuru All Stars), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Patillah Omotto (Kariobangi Sharks)


Boniface Muchiri (Tusker), Kepha Aswani (Nakumatt), Masoud Juma (Kariobangi Sharks), Boniface Omondi (Gor Mahia), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), James Mazembe (Kakamega High School), Ezekiel Otuoma (Western Stima), Joe Waithera (Wazito), Chris Ochieng (Mathare United), Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo Kericho), Marcellus Ingotsi (AFC Leopards)

Foreign Based Players

Abud Omar (Slava Sofia, Bulgaria), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), David Ochieng (New York Cosmos, USA), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Michael Olunga (Guizhou Zhicheng, China), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Erick Johanna (Vasalund’s FC, Sweden), Mark Makwatta (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Jonah Ayunga (Galway United, Ireland), Brian Mandela (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Arnold Origi (Lillestrom, Norway)

Share this article