Three called up to Emerging Stars squad ahead of Mauritius qualifier

francis kimanzi emerging stars
Coach Francis Kimanzi in consultation with his assistant John Kamau during the second of a two day selection exercise for the National U23 football team, the Emerging Stars
Share this article
  • 19

Three more players have been included in an initial 23-man Emerging Stars squad ahead of the upcoming Africa U23 Cup of Nations Qualifier against Mauritius.

AFC Leopards Midfielder Marvin Omondi, as well as defenders John Otieno (Kariobangi Sharks) and Samuel Semo (KCB) have been called up to bolster the Emerging Stars’ ranks.

Ulinzi Stars defender Harun Mwale, meanwhile, has been dropped from the squad, that is set to hit camp on Sunday, November 11, 2018, in Nairobi.

The match will be played on Wednesday, November 14, 2018, at the MISC Kasarani, starting 4 pm, with the second leg slated for Sunday, November 18, 2018, in Mauritius.

The winner on aggregate will face either of Sudan or Seychelles in the second round, with a third round, which will determine which team graces the Africa U23 Cup of Nations, also in line.

Ticket prices for Wednesday’s match have been set at KES 100 Regular and KES 500 VIP, and will be sold on match day at the match venue.

The final U23 AFCON tournament, set to be held in Egypt in November 2019, will act as a qualifier for the 2020 Summer Olympics, with the best three teams gaining automatic qualification.

Emerging Stars Squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Mike Kibwage (KCB), Lennox Ogutu (Mathare United), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Yussuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA), John Otieno (Kariobangi Sharks), Samuel Semo (KCB)


Teddy Osok (Sofapaka), Tobias Otieno (Sony Sugar), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), Abdallah Ahmed (Mathare United), Chrispinus Onyango (KCB), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Alwyn Tera (FC Saburtalo, Georgia), Henry Ochieng (Braintree Town, England), Marvin Omondi (AFC Leopards)


Boniface Mukhekhe (Nakumatt), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Jaffari Owiti (AFC Leopards), Jonah Ayunga (Sutton United, England), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden)

Also Read: Statement on CAF Appeals Board decision to reinstate Equatorial Guinea

Share this article
  • 19