Vihiga Queens crowned Champions, SEP Oyugis promoted

vihiga queens
Share this article

Vihiga Queens was on Saturday, November 30, 2019, crowned this season’s  Women Premier League champions.

Their third success in a row came as they pipped home side Trans Nzoia Falcons 2-1  in their final match of the season at the Kenyatta Stadium in Kitale.

The Vihiga Queens coach was  elated at his team retaining the trophy after winning the league three times in a row.

“Winning the league three times in a row shows that our team is doing a remarkable job in the Women Premier League,” said Coach Alex Alumira.

Trans Nzoia Falcons Coach applauded his team despite the 2-1 results of the game against Vihiga Queens.

“I’m happy with how my team has played despite breaking for a while during the league.They have played really well,” said Coach Evans Ingosi.

SEP Oyugis also took up the third and final promotion slot, joining Women Division One League Zone B champions Nakuru West Queens and their Zone A counterparts Kahawa Queens in the top tier.

SEP Oyugis beat Zone A runners up MTG United 4-0.

Kahawa Queens, meanwhile, were 2-1 winners over Nakuru West Queens in a playoff that preceded Vihiga Queens’ final match and were consequently crowned the overall Division One League champions.

The Kahawa Queens Coach applauded his team and its efforts to be crowned the Women Division One overall winners

“The game was not easy as we faced a worthy opponent but I am glad we put our best foot forward and were the overall winners of the Women Division One League ,” said Coach Joseph Wambua.

Also Read: Harambee Stars provisional squad for CECAFA Senior Championships named

Share this article