Vihiga United, KCB promoted to the 18-team KPL

Nick Mwendwa
Share this article

Vihiga United and KCB, who finished fifth and sixth respectively in the 2016 National Super League, have been promoted to the Kenyan Premier League. This is at the expense of Sofapaka and Muhoroni Youth whose appeals were turned down by the Independent Disciplinary and Appeals Committee (IDAC). Thika United have, however, been reinstated.

The three clubs(Sofapaka, Muhoroni Youth, and Thika United) had earlier been demoted from the KPL for failing to meet Club Licensing requirements within the set dates.

Also Read: Three KPL Clubs demoted for failing to comply with club licensing

They then appealed to the Independent Disciplinary and Appeals Committee (IDAC). The IDAC directed the three to resubmit their documents to the Licensing Committee for a fresh examination.

The outcome, which is final, will see Vihiga United and KCB join Tusker, Ulinzi Stars, Bandari, AFC Leopards, Gor Mahia, Kakamega Homeboyz, Chemelil Sugar, Posta Rangers, Western Stima, Mathare United, Sony Sugar, Nakumatt, Zoo Kericho, Kariobangi Sharks and Nzoia United in an 18 team Kenyan Premier League.

Share this article