Home Kenya U17 National team Kenya U17 team provisional squad for Africa U17 Cup of Nations Qualifiers...

Kenya U17 team provisional squad for Africa U17 Cup of Nations Qualifiers released

Kenya U17
The National U17 team in a group photo prior to the team's departure to Burundi for the CECAFA U17 Championships in April 2018
Share this article
  • 69

A provisional squad of 30 players has been named ahead of the Africa U17 Cup of Nations CECAFA Region Qualifying tournament, set to be played between August 11, to August 26, 2018, in Tanzania.

The team comprises players who most recently took part in the CECAFA U17 Championships in Burundi in April, finishing fourth behind Tanzania, Somalia, and Uganda. Also included in the team is Green Commandos’ Kevinton Mwachika, as well as Alliance High School’s Victor Benson.

Kenya has been pooled in Group B alongside Uganda, Ethiopia, Southern Sudan and Djibouti. The team is set to hit camp on July 22, 2018, in Nairobi, before shifting base to Mombasa on August 1, ahead of their departure to Tanzania on August 6, 2018.

The tournament will determine which team takes part in the 2019 Africa U17 Cup of Nations in May 2019 alongside Tanzania, who gain automatic qualification by virtue of being the hosts. The overall winner will thus get the spot, while the runners-up could also make it in case Tanzania emerges champions.

Also Read: All set for the Africa U17 Cup of Nations Qualifying Tournament

Group A: Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Somalia, Sudan

Group B: Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia, Southern Sudan, Djibouti

Also Read: Gor Mahia ease past Yanga in CAF Confederations Cup

Full Squad

Nicholas Omondi (Soweto Baptist), Isaiah Abwal (St Anthony Kitale), Arnold Onyango (Laiser Hill Academy), Telvin Maina (Laiser Hil Academy), Lesley Otieno (Sunflower Secondary), Mathew Mwendwa (Annointed High School), Kennedy Nduto (Sunrise Secondary), Maxwell Mulili (Mukumu Boys), Christopher Raila (St Anthony Kitale), Brian Olang’o (Kamukunji Secondary), Saidi Musa (Eastleigh High School), Daniel Odhiambo (St Anthony Kitale), Felix Chabaya (Brownill Secondary), Alphonce Omija (St Johns Secondary), Francis Ayugi            (Laiser Hil Academy), Maqbul Daudi (Bright Stars High School), Ezekiel Mgendi (Bahati Secondary School), Geoffrey Onyango (Br Beausang Educational Centre), Stephen Owino (Arwings Kodhek High School), Keith Imbali (Eastleigh High School), Hussein Abdulmalik (Congo Boys), Elijah Oduor (Laiser Hill Academy), Kevinton  Mwachika (Kakamega High School), Kimanzi Erick (Chaani Youth), Victor Benson (Alliance High School), Abdul Ahmed (Raila Educational Centre), Telvin Omutere (Bridgeway High School), Richdonald Bolo (Gor Mahia Youth), Lopaga Josephat (Gor Mahia Youth), Bixente Lazarazu (Kamukunji Secondary)

Share this article
  • 69