Harambee Stars left the country on Friday, December 6, 2019, for Kampala, Uganda ahead of their upcoming 2019 CECAFA Senior Championships.

The team, which has been in camp in Nairobi, will be looking forward to defending the title they won in Machakos in 2019.

Coach Kimanzi exuded confidence as they left for Kampala. He noted that they’ve had adequate preparations and that they are now ready and raring to go.

“We have a chance of defending our title. We will, of course, be under pressure but that is the nature of football,” said coach Kimanzi.

“This tournament is also an avenue for us to give new players a chance. We have AFCON and World Cup Qualifiers coming up next year so it’s important we see who we can involve in the senior team,” he added.

Kenya has been pooled in Group B alongside Tanzania, Sudan, and Zanzibar. The first match will be against Tanzania on Sunday, December 8, 2019, in Kampala.

Uganda, Burundi, Somalia, Djibouti, and Eritrea have all been pooled in Group A.

Top two teams in each group will proceed to the semifinals, slated for Tuesday, December 17, 2019, in Kampala after which the final and the third-place play-off will be played on Thursday, December 19, 2019.

Final Squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)


Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)


Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Timothy Otieno (Tusker)

Also read: Harambee Stars final squad for CECAFA Senior Championships named


Group Stages

  1. Djibouti vs Somalia (Saturday, December 7, 2019, Kampala)
  2. Uganda vs Burundi (Saturday, December 7, 2019, Kampala)
  3. Zanzibar vs Sudan (Sunday, December 8, 2019, Kampala)
  4. Kenya vs Tanzania (Sunday, December 8, 2019, Kampala)
  5. Burundi vs Eritrea (Monday, December 9, 2019, Kampala)
  6. Somali vs Uganda (Monday, December 9, 2019, Kampala)
  7. Sudan vs Kenya (Tuesday, December 10, 2019, Kampala)
  8. Tanzania vs Zanzibar (Tuesday, December 10, 2019, Kampala)
  9. Eritrea vs Uganda (Wednesday, December 11, 2019, Kampala)
  10. Burundi vs Djibouti (Wednesday, December 11, 2019, Kampala)
  11. Djibouti vs Eritrea (Friday, December 13, 2019, Kampala)
  12. Eritrea vs Somali (Friday, December 13, 2019, Kampala)
  13. Kenya vs Zanzibar (Saturday, December 14, 2019, Kampala)
  14. Sudan vs Tanzania (Saturday, December 14, 2019, Kampala)
  15. Somali vs Burundi (Sunday, December 15, 2019, Kampala)
  16. Uganda vs Djibouti (Sunday, December 15, 2019, Kampala)


  1. Winner Group A vs Runners-up Group B (Tuesday, December 17, 2019, Kampala)
  2. Winner Group B vs Runners-up Group A (Tuesday, December 17, 2019, Kampala)


  1. Third place Playoff (Thursday, December 19, 2019, Kampala)
  2. Final (Thursday, December 19, 2019, Kampala)

Also Read: FKF unveils OdiBets as grassroots county leagues partner in KES 127 Million deal