The Chapa Dimba na Safaricom Youth Tournament enters its penultimate stage in Western Region after the third round of matches played on Saturday, November 17, and Sunday, November 18, 2018.

Six sub-branch winners were identified at the weekend; two girls – Lusengeli Sec. School and Kigandole Queens, and four boys – Ebbu Stars, Wakongwe, Busia Wolves and The Saints.

The six join two qualified girls’ teams; Red Commandoes (Butere-Mumias sub-branch) and Ibinzo Girls (Kakamega Sub-branch) who lifted their respective titles last weekend.

The four boys’ and girls’ winners will enter a final round of games to provide two boys and two girls teams that will qualify for the regional finals set for Bukhungu Stadium in mid-January 2019.

A similar number will be provided by North Western Branch who had a break this weekend. They play their penultimate round of games next weekend to identify winners for Teso, Mt. Elgon, Bungoma and Lugari sub-branches.


Wakongwe FC dismissed CC Junior 3-0 at Mukumu Girls school to lift the Kakamega sub-branch title as Ebbu Stars won the Vihiga title over Pythons in post-match penalties at the Kidundu Stadium. They won it 5-3 after the normal game ended 1-1.

At the same venue, Lusengeli received their title after a well worked 6-0 dispatch of Khwiliba Ladies.


On Sunday, Busia Wolves edged out Teens of Hope 2-0 at the Busia Stadium while at the Odiado Primary school, Kigandole Queens stopped The Lioness 1-0 to win the Busia title. At Butere Primary, The Saints denied Shiongo after winning the finals 3-0 for the Butere-Mumias sub-branch title.

Summary of Winners


Ebbu Stars (Vihiga), The Saints (Butere-Mumias), Wakongwe (Kakamega), Busia Wolves (Busia)


Lusengeli Secondary (Vihiga), Red Commandoes (Butere-Mumias), Ibinzo Girls (Kakamega), Kingandole Queens (Busia)

Also Read: Kayole Starlet bounce back, Falcons rise to second