The Junior Starlets are currently in their second day of residential training camp as they prepare for the upcoming CECAFA U18 Women’s Championship.

However, there have been challenges in getting all the players to join the camp. The coach has made an appeal to schools to release the players who are yet to join, as some schools are reluctant to release them due to the school games.

Coach requested the Kenya Secondary Schools Sports Association (KSSSA) to adjust their calendar to allow the players an opportunity to represent the national team.

She stated, “We ask KSSSA to consider adjusting the calendar slightly to accommodate the players’ participation in the national team. It is important for them to have the chance to play at this level.”

Coach Beldine also emphasized the significance of players representing the national team.  She added, “Playing for the national team is important for the players in terms of exposure. It also helps them build their careers, whether they have aspirations to play football professionally or pursue other opportunities within the football industry.”

The players are enthusiastic and eager to compete in the championship. The fact that this is a home tournament has further increased their motivation to win.

Fasila Adhiambo expressed the team’s optimism, saying, “The atmosphere in the camp is fantastic. Being the host of the tournament, we are determined to win the championship.”

The CECAFA U18 Women’s Championship is scheduled to commence on Saturday, June 24, 2023, in Nairobi.

Provisional Squad


Christine Omolo(Butere Girls), Scovia Awuor (Kobala Secondary), Terry Okova (Mogunga Girls), Velma Auma (Wiyeta Girls), Shihafu Askonotia (Dagoretti Mixed).


Robai Nelma (Lwandeti D.E.B), Vidah Okeyo (Butere Girls), Judith Okumu (Butere Girls), Dorcas Glenda (Butere Girls), Beryl Achieng (Magunga Secondary), Sharlot Atieno Obondi (KISPED), Philomena Syombua (Kamkunji Secondary), Claire meris (Kobala Secondary), Junedezina Awino (Itigo Girls), Lorine Ilavunga (Wiyeta Girls), Sharon Omwangale (Wiyeta Girls), Ruth Akinyi (Nasokol Girls).


Rebecca Kwoba (Soccer Assasins FC), Jane Hato (Madira Girls), Lorna Faith (Butere Girls), Sheila Awuor Ouma (Kobala Secondary), Eunice Atieno Odemba (Kobala Secondary), Ephy Atieno Onyango (Kobala Secondary), Susan Akoth (Our Lady of Fatima), Jerrine Adhiambo (Madira Girls), Jane Njeri (Dandora Secondary), Velma Kaveza (Itigo Girls), Sheila Kaare Wanjiru (105 Nini Farm), Conny Anyego (Hoppy’s Girls Primary), Sheila Adongo (Wiyeta Girls), Erika Njeri (Kahuhia Girls), Rebecca Odato (Dagoretti Mixed).


Mollviine Achieng Owour (KISPED), Elizabeth Mideva (Bishop Njenga), Fasila Adhiambo (Ulinzi Starlets FC), Immanuela Nafula (Sang’alo Institute), Valerie L Nekesa (Madira Girls), Ivy Chepkirui (Zetech FC), Winnie Wangeci (Moi Girls Nangili), Margaret Njeri (Falling Waters), Patience Kasichana (Dagoretti Mixed), Inna Akinyi (Fussball Naks Ladies), Margaret Aluoch Onyango (Kobala Secondary), Edna Wanda (Wiyeta Girls).

Also read: Harambee Hold Final Training Session ahead of Mauritius Four Nations Tournament