Harambee Stars coach Francis Kimanzi has named the provisional squad for the upcoming CECAFA Senior Championships to be played in Uganda next month.

Coach Kimanzi has given a chance to former Bandari midfielder Anthony Wambani, who currently features for Swedish side Vasalunds IF.

Posta Rangers’ defender Suleiman Ngotho has also been given a chance, as has Western Stima’s sensational forward Benson Omala, who was instrumental in the U20 Rising Stars’ CECAFA campaign in October this year.

CECAFA U20 Championships’ best Goalkeeper Brian Bwire has also been called up and will have to fight for a place against Ulinzi Stars’ Timothy Odhiambo, who was named October’s SJAK player of the month.

The team reports to camp on Monday, December 2, 2019, ahead of the regional showpiece, set to be played between December 7, and December 19, 2019, in Uganda.

Kenya has been pooled in Group C alongside Tanzania, Djibouti, and Zanzibar, and will be looking to defend the title they won in December 2017, in Machakos.

Group A is comprised of hosts Uganda, Burundi, Ethiopia, and Eritrea, while Group B will pit guest team DR Congo against Sudan, South Sudan, and Somalia.

The top two teams in each group, as well as two best losers from the three groups, will proceed to the tournament’s quarterfinal.

Also Read: FKF Cup Tournament dates set, registration window opened

Provisional Squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Suleiman Ngotho (Posta Rangers), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Hillary Wandera (Tusker), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United) Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)

Also Read: First round of FKF Instructors’ course set to take shape


Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), Luke Namanda (Tusker), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)


Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars), John Mark Makwatta (AFC Leopards)

Also Read: Harambee Stars pooled in Group C of upcoming CECAFA Senior Championships